Odie Lindsey

http://oalindsey.com/

Odie Lindsey’s story collection We Come to Our Senses (W.W. Norton, 2016) explores the lives of southern veterans and their families. The book has earned praise from the New York Times Book Review, Los Angeles Review of Books, the Chicago Review of Books, OUT, Kirkus and elsewhere, and was named a Best Book of 2016 by Electric Literature and Military Times. His fiction has appeared in Best American Short Stories, Iowa Review, Columbia, Harper Perennial’s Forty Stories and Guernica (among others). Lindsey is a combat veteran and lives in Nashville, Tennessee.

Sessions

Books

We Come to Our Senses

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.

Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story “Evie M.” is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in “We Come to Our Senses,” a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in “Colleen” a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in “11/19/98” a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story “Hers” is about the sexual politics of a combat zone.